There are two other terms which you might see used, which are the counterparts to churn:
- CRR (Customer Retention Rate) which is equal to 1 – Customer Churn Rate
- DRR (Dollar Retention Rate) which is equal to 1 – Dollar Churn Rate
So a business that has a negative churn rate, will have a Dollar Retention Rate of greater than 100%. These are some of the very best SaaS business out there. Examples of DRR greater than 100% include: Zendesk: 123%, NewRelic 115%, Box: 130%, Rally Software 127%.
More SaaS + Software Stats
The median average contract length is 1.3 years and the average billing term is seven months in advance in 2016. Comparable to 2015, with average contract length shortening from 1.5 to 1.3 years and average billing period increasing by one month from 2015 to 7 months
When determining Sales Capacity, “it’s worth noting that some percentage of new sales hires won’t meet expectations, so that should be taken into consideration when setting hiring goals. Typically we have seen failure rates around 25-30% for field sales reps, but this varies by company. The failure rate is lower for inside sales reps. can be counted as half of a productive rep”